h1

Show Boat

August 29, 2006

I just realized I didn’t write about the show…

It was absolutely amazing. The theater was sold out BOTH nights! Something that hasn’t been done at the Ariel in the last hundred years (or something like that)! In fact, it was sold out for Saturday night on Friday night!

Did it make me nervous? Hell no. In fact, I think I got LESS nervous when the curtain opened and I actually saw them all sitting there. It was like something just came alive inside of me that hadn’t been there for years! It was bliss.

The show itself went by way to fast. We danced our little dances, the main people performed their hearts out, we all sang with our strongest voices, and looked happy at the curtain call, when in actuallity, we were all a little sad it was over.

The first night, there was a standing ovation, and it wasn’t like a “Oh thank god, it’s finally over” kind of standing ovation, people were LEAPING out of their seats! They were excited! It was like we totally blew their expectations of what they thought they were coming to see, which is REALLY saying something for our area!

At the thanks and greets afterward, where we all went out into the front hall to thank people for coming, I got several compliments about my voice and stage presence, even though I was only in the chorus and had a couple bit parts. I believe the second night I got 4 “You have a beautiful voice”s, one “Oh and you did REALLY good,” and even one “You should be next year’s star!” That was cool.

But I really think the best part out of all of it were all the new friends I made. I mean really, out of all of us, several of us were meeting for the first time, or if we did know each other, never really spoke. For instance, the only person I really knew and talked to was Jonathan, my little gay canadian friend from the after school program. There was Mrs. Graham and Mrs. Bapst, old teachers, and Susan Beman, who I knew from doing George M senior year. And then the only other person I knew was Joey Graham, who I never really talked to in High School. By the end of this thing, I can seriously call all of them family. Yes, even Joey. We were all different ages, different walks of life, different areas of the county (the “city” folk and the “rural” folk), but every one of us got along and REALLY didn’t want to leave each other at the end of the Cast Party.

WHICH was also awesome. It was upstairs at the Ariel, a catered event. We presented the directors with their gifts and the Ariel Board of Directors thanked us PROFUSELY (we raised $6000 PROFIT!) Then Susan Beman started to yell for Jay (the guy that sang Old Man River) to give a speech. Then it was Margaret Evans, then it was Ted, then it was Steve, and then it just went through the entire cast. EVERYONE in the cast made a speech about how much we loved each other, how much we loved doing the show, thanking Cindy Graham and Susan and Scott Michaels, saying how BADLY we wanted to do it again next year… (and of course, Lauren Farley who said she only joined in the first place because her brother told her Mrs Graham needed black people! LOL) it was just really cool. There really were no small parts. It wasn’t just a cliche.

So now the Show Boat has docked, and I’m going back to school. I started Monday, so now I pretty much know how all my classes are going to go. And real life has set back in. But, as Scott said in his speech, “CHOIR PRACTICE STARTS IN THREE WEEKS!” lol-

If you’d like to see pictures from the last casual rehersal, and a few from Sunday Night’s show- I put them up in Picasa. Here ya go:

Show Boat

Aug 24, 2006 – 105 Photos

Leave a Reply

